Pre-School Curriculum

The Pre-School Curriculum is grounded in the Montessori Method and consists of the 8 strands below.

Practical Life

The practical life provides real life experiences for children. The exercises in Practical Life builds the foundation of future academic skills through purposeful activities, develop independence, order, concentration, motor control and coordination, sense of responsibility, and social skills.


The importance of the sensorial area is to develop and refine the child’s five senses. These exercises teach the child to become a precise observer, which leads to the abstraction of ideas, logical thinking and the ability to distinguish, categorize and relate new information to what he already knows. The materials also serve to expand the child’s vocabulary in a very concrete way.

  • The visual sense is related to the perception of color, form and dimensions.
  • The tactile sense discriminates texture, temperature and weight.
  • The auditory sense is perception of sounds.
  • The gustatory and olfactory senses are developed through tasting and smelling experiences.

Like many other materials in the Montessori classroom, sensorial materials have what is called "control of error", meaning that the child not only works with the material, but has a way to check their work rather than seeking out the teacher if they have a question on whether or not they did it right. This is done to help promote independence and problem solving on the part of the child.

Language Arts

The language curriculum consists of oral language, pre-reading and pre-writing activities as an integrated whole. Language materials are designed to enhance vocabulary and explore spoken and written language. Through language-based activities, such as the sandpaper letters and the Moveable Alphabet, children learn phonetic sounds and how to compose words phonetically. As the child progresses using concrete materials, he/she is capable of writing simple texts and stories. The K5 students are also introduced to Sight Words (“look and see” words/high frequency words) and to books that will develop and refine their reading skills - vocabulary, pronunciation, fluency and comprehension skills.


The child is introduced to math concepts through simple and concrete experiences to more abstract and complex activities. The young child is introduced to numeration (symbols and quantities from 0 to 10), linear counting (symbols and quantities from 1 to 100), skip counting to 1000 (using bead chains), and introduced the decimal system (units, tens, hundreds and thousands) through exchange and bank games.

Social Studies (History and Geography)

Geography consists of materials related to the child's understanding of the world around him (planet, continents, countries, culture, etc).

History is also developed through the child’s world, his daily routine, days, months, seasons, telling time, and birthdays (which are periodically celebrated).


The purpose of science is to bring the child's reality into perspective and to allow the child to manipulate and experience materials that help him to discover natural laws.

Students learn science through hands-on experiences (sink and float, magnetic and non magnetic, gardening, etc), and classification activities (living and nonliving, plant-animal-mineral, life cycles). Science curriculum also covers topics as amphibians, reptiles, mammals, birds, and human being.

K5 Child Protection Program

These classes provide age appropriate lessons to help students understand personal safety, develop skills in recognizing and responding to unsafe situations, and identifying trusted adults. The curriculum includes: naming body parts (use of correct anatomical terms),privacy (personal space), decision making, giving consent, respectful behaviors and language, recognizing emotions, empathy, self-respect, internet safety, reporting situations to trustworthy adults. The Preschool Counselor is responsible for the preparing and presentation of the lessons, and sharing with parents the content of the lesson/unit.

Língua Portuguesa

Dentro do campo de experiência “Escuta, Fala, Pensamento e Imaginação” (Base Nacional Comum Curricular) encontra-se o ensino da Língua Portuguesa. Para a faixa etária de 4 a 5 anos temos como meta o desenvolvimento de nove(9) habilidades específicas, são elas:

  1. Expressar ideias, desejos e sentimentos sobre suas vivências, por meio da linguagem oral e escrita (escrita espontânea), de fotos, desenhos e outras formas de expressão.
  2. Inventar brincadeiras cantadas, poemas e canções, criando rimas, aliterações e ritmos.
  3. Escolher e folhear livros, procurando orientar-se por temas e ilustrações tentando identificar palavras conhecidas.
  4. Recontar histórias ouvidas e planejar coletivamente roteiros de vídeos e de encenações, definindo os contextos, os personagens, a estrutura da história.
  5. Recontar histórias ouvidas para produção de reconto escrito, tendo o professor como escriba.
  6. Produzir suas próprias histórias orais e escritas (escrita espontânea), em situações com função social significativa.
  7. Levantar hipóteses sobre gêneros textuais veiculados em portadores conhecidos, recorrendo a estratégias de observação gráfica e/ou de leitura.
  8. Selecionar livros e textos de gêneros conhecidos para a leitura de um adulto e/ou para sua própria leitura (partindo de seu repertório sobre esses textos, como a recuperação pela memória, pela leitura das ilustrações etc.).
  9. Levantar hipóteses em relação à linguagem escrita, realizando registros de palavras e textos, por meio de escrita espontânea.